Teaser Tuesdays: The Swerve by Stephen Greenblatt

Nonfiction a-go-go continues: Now into The Swerve by Stephen Greenblatt, about the Renaissance rediscovery of Lucretius’ poem “On the Nature of Things.” I had requested it from the library even before it won the National Book Award for nonfiction. I’m only 50 pages in and I haven’t hit real traction but that’s not the book’s fault — it’s more readable than I had thought, even.

So here’s the teaser (the rule is two sentences from a random page, post the link in the comments section of the Should Be Reading blog. Or if you don’t have a blog, you can just post your teaser in the comments):

“Despite the vigorous efforts that Thomas More made, during his time as chancellor, to establish one, England had no Inquisition. Though it was still quite possible to get into serious trouble for unguarded speech, Bruno may have felt more at liberty to speak his mind, or, in this case, to indulge in raucous, wildly subversive laughter.” (p. 236)

1 Comment

Filed under Key West Library, nonfiction

One response to “Teaser Tuesdays: The Swerve by Stephen Greenblatt

  1. Hi Nancy,

    Sorry to solicit here, but at least I’m not spam. Or I’m trying not to be. I found your blog through another blogger, and based on other books you’ve reviewed, I wondered if you’d be interested in reading my narrative nonfiction memoir, My Life as Laura: How I Searched for Laura Ingalls Wilder and Found Myself. Obviously, I am a Wilder fan, and Confederates in the Attic was one of my role models for the book (travelogue, history, profiles, and childhood obsession). It’s also kind of uncanny that you picked Alias, Grace as your favorite Atwood.

    I know you are probably swamped with reading material, but as a small press author I’d appreciate any support you could lend. You did say you were on a nonfiction kick! I’d be happy to send a review copy. You can also check out my website or my Amazon page for more information.

    I’ll have to give Rin Tin Tin a try. I just taught The Orchid Thief this past quarter (to show how research and writing and story can work together), although I do agree some of the research bits get a bit too researchy. Overall, though, I’m a fan of Orlean but I wondered if a book about a dog would sustain my interest. I should have had faith.

    My email is below, and thanks for the reading list. That I love the books i had heard of makes me think I l would love the ones I hadn’t.

    Kelly

Leave a Reply

